Sharing a report

There are two different ways to share a report with other people, depending on exactly what you want to do:

  1. You can give a user permission to view a report. Sitebeam can even automatically create the user for you, and will email them a link to their report. You can grant a user rights to many reports and dashboards if you wish, so this option is ideal for peers and clients.
  2. You can give out a public link to a report. Simply visiting this link lets you view the report, so it’s easy to share. It’s not very secure however, and people viewing a single report can’t do anything else, like compare websites. This is ideal for sales pitches or quick demonstrations.

Sharing a report with a user

The Share Report screen in Sitebeam

Note: the user doesn’t have to exist already, this will create them for you.

  1. View the report you wish to share.
  2. Click on the Share button at the top of the page.
  3. Under the Share by email box, enter the email addresses of anyone you wish to send the report to in the box at the top. Or under the Existing users box, you can select existing users and click Add to grant them rights to the report.
  4. Click OK.
  5. If you entered email addresses that Sitebeam does not already have a user account for, Sitebeam will invent an appropriate password for them and email them their login details automatically. Their email will also contain a link to the report.

You can modify who has rights to view a report at any time. Click the Share button and modify the list of Existing users at the bottom. Note that this will not send any emails to these users.

Sharing a report by link

Link to report dialogue box in Sitebeam

  1. View the report you wish to share.
  2. Click the Link button at the top of the page.
  3. Copy the link provided. Note the link is automatically shortened for you where possible.

Once you have shared a link, there is no way to remove access to it via the link. Your only way of preventing this is to delete the shared report.

For security conscious Enterprise users, the sharing via link feature may be disabled at your request.

Was this article helpful? Contact our support team if you have a question.